Working installation of v1.31 in Windows?
Posted by: Luke ()
Date: May 01, 2008 02:58AM

Bonjour, hello from New Zealand :-)

I am a Pilot and IT Consultant here and have stumbled across the OpenFlyers package. Being a supporter of opensource I was very interested to try it but have been somewhat frustrated in my attempts :-(

To date I have tried to install the openflyers package under EasyPHP, WAMP, PHPTriad and a standalone installation of each server package separately. All of these have been under windows (I like Linux and manage several Linux machines but for various reasons it's easier for me to do this in my laptop under WinXP). I had quite some trouble getting PEAR and its required packages installed but finally got that sorted. Unfortunately things have not gone so well since.

In each instance I can run the install script and it will ask for language and other options fine, once that's complete however when I try to log into the operation proper (/index.php) it will not connect! No amount of trying will get it to work - other files/scripts work fine (demonstrating the AMP servers are working ok) - and there is no error message I can use to debug.

If I look at the Apache access log I find that there is no entry for the request yet if I request the about.php filefor instance, which is in the same directory, it is served to the browser ok and the request appears in the log. I've tried renaming the index.php file, just in case something in my setup was causing the problem but to no avail.

I feel as if there's something I'm missing but it's not apparent to me at this time! Perhaps someone else has had a similar issue and/or can help?

Thanks, Luke.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Working installation of v1.31 in Windows?
Date: May 01, 2008 03:06AM

Some more information - the Apache error logs show this when I try to access the index file:

[Thu May 01 15:03:05 2008] [notice] Parent: child process exited with status 128 -- Restarting.